The 2015 “Iowa Rock ‘N’ Roll Hall of Fame Induction Spectacular” will be hosted in Arnold’s Park from September 4-6.

Sponsored by the statewide non-profit Iowa Rock ‘N’ Roll Music Association, the 2015 ceremony will honor 24 musical entities from Iowa and throughout the Midwest for their contributions to rock n’ roll in the Hawkeye State.

Weekend festivities will continue an annual tradition that began with the IRRMA’s founding in 1997 for the purpose of “preserving the legacy of rock ‘n roll and the history of music in the state of Iowa.”

To mark the 18th anniversary of the Hall of Fame, there will be various festivities for attendees, including live performances in “the city of five lakes.”

The roster of performers being inducted by the IRRMA were announced in January. This year’s selection for Hall of Fame status include the following honorees:

Musicians “Scott Cochran (Des Moines), Craig Bravender (Waterloo), Dave Christopherson (Waterloo), Carey Crowson (Ankeny), Kevin Lind (Laurens), Andy Avery (Burlington) and Taylor Mills (Des Moines).”

The bands “Smokin’ Clams (Sioux City), Windfall Jac (Fayette), Inner Lite (Marshalltown), Castels (Milford), FreeStyle (Des Moines) and Interstate Cruisers (Sibley), and “Jan & Dean” as this year’s “Out-of-State honorees” The Border Band honoree is Steve Ellis and the Starfires (Pipestone, MN).

The band November 35th (Sioux City) and Barbara Lancaster (Arnolds Park) will be awarded the 2015 Spirit Award for “their continued efforts to preserve the music and its history now and into the future.”

The late Dick Dale (Algona) will be honored with the Matousek Family Lifetime Achievement Award. Receiving the IRRMA Lifetime Achievement Award are the late Richard Burns (Woodbine), Darwin Eaton (Pocahontas), Bob Gamble (Spirit Lake) and Jerry LeMire (Minneapolis, MN).

Venues such as Hoyt Sherman Place (Des Moines), Catamount Studios (Cedar Falls), Hi-Way Gardens (Stanwood), and the Riviera Ballroom (Janesville) are being recognized for their historical significance in helping local music reach audiences across the state and beyond.

The Iowa Rock ‘N’ Roll Hall of Fame museum is located at 91 Lake Street in Arnolds Park. Since 2013, the IRRMA board has been developing plans for a new museum covering 12,000 square feet, a plan sources say will “ensure a place for Iowa’s Rock ‘n Roll history into perpetuity.”

Iowans can nominate musical acts to be considered for a future induction into the Hall of Fame. According to the IRRMA, “Nominations are accepted at any time, but must be in by midnight on Sept. 15th every year to be considered for the following year.”

Tickets to the ceremony are now on sale.

For more information, visit:

Photo Credit: © Melinda Nagy / Dollar Photo Club

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *