Today, Governor Branstad ordered all flags on the Capitol Complex to be flown at half-staff from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Friday, May 8, 2015, to observe the Iowa Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony which is to be held at 10 a.m. on Friday at the Oran Pape State Office Building of the Iowa Department of Public Safety.

Additionally, the flags at the Iowa Peace Officer Memorial, at the Oran Pape building, will be flown at half-staff the entire week of May 11-15, 2015, in honor of National Peace Officer Week.

The memorial ceremony is open to the public:

Date and Time:  Friday, May 8, 2015 @ 10 a.m.

Location:  Oran Pape State Office Building, Iowa Department of Public Safety

215 E. 7th St.

Des Moines, IA

According to the department of public safety, four fallen officers will be added to the Iowa Peace Officer Memorial:

Police Officer Marion Albert “Bert” Conrey, Knoxville Police Department, E.O.W. April 2, 1938

Police Officer Everett Luke Dutcher, Cedar Falls Police Department, E.O.W. July 31, 1945

Special Deputy Claude B. Dail, Pottawattamie County Sheriff’s Office, E.O.W. August 25, 1932

Deputy Marshal Richard Lansing Eggleston, Osceola Police Department, E.O.W. November 22, 1917

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *